Patrick Knip

CoMotion 2018

CoMotion 2018

CoMotion is a student sponsored and organized event that brings together top industry professionals with Motion Media Design Students at the Savannah College of Art & Design. The event includes the Annual Student Showcase, panel discussions, lectures, and portfolio reviews. The goal of the event is to connect students with potential employers and prepare students for their career by offering diverse insight into the industry. Featured on Behance in Motion and After Effects galleries.

Every year, a competition is held between the students of the Motion Media Department for the branding of the event, and is voted on by fellow students for the winning design. Once the brand is chosen, the team of students who won the competition then pick a team that will create the title sequence that will kick off the event. For CoMotion 2018, I had the honor of being a part of both the initial team that pitched the branding, alongside Sofie Lee, Sam Button, Anastasia Skrebneva, and Yunho Park as one of the five potatoes, as well as the title sequence branding team as Art Director. 


Our incredible Creative Director Sofie Lee and I spent the month of December concepting and designing, making the initial storyboard and developing the overall look for the title sequence. Below you can see the initial storyboard. This project wouldn't have been possible without the hard work of our team of over 30 people. This was an incredible learning experience for me, not only as a leader but also an artist. It gave me a renewed love for collaboration.


Every year, CoMotion hosts a student showcase where the work of the Motion Media Department is displayed to companies to judge. Each category in the showcase has its own title card, and below are each of the individual title cards for the student showcase. A group of us on the branding team were in charge of designing and animating these.


Creative Director : Sofie Lee
Executive Producer : Matt Van Rys
Co-Producers : Joel Desmond, Houhan Wang
Editor : Matt Van Rys
Technical Director : Omid Seraj
Director of Photography : Houhan Wang
Art Director : Patrick Knip
Experimental Director : Anastasia Skrebneva
3D Lead Animator : Yunho Park
2D Lead Animator : Sam Button
Lead Graphic Designer : Francisco Betancourt
Lead Designers : Leah Evans, Sunny B. Yazdani


Kayla Beehler, Francisco Betancourt, Sam Button, Joel Desmond, Madison Ellis, Ana Margarita Ospina, Yunho Park, Augustus Rachels, Aishwarya Sadasivan, Yixin Li, Anastasia Skrebneva, Champ Techawongthawon, Taylor Thorne, Nestor Tomaselli, Matt Van Ays, Houhan Wang, Sunny B. Yazdani